The Carabao Cup will no longer feature extra-time following a rule change approved by EFL clubs.

Games that are not settled in 90 minutes will now go straight to penalties. The spot-kicks will also be played in the traditional format instead of the ABBA format that was tried in the League Cup and EFL Trophy last season.

The change is the biggest alteration to the competition’s format announced as part of changes agreed at the AGM of EFL clubs.

In the other changes discussed, the EFL also announced that the VAR system will be used in ties held at Premier League stadiums. They also confirmed that the competition’s first two rounds will no longer be seeded, although the North/South split will remain in use for the opening round.

As for the Checkatrade Trophy, there will be no changes to the main format of allowing invited Premier League and Championship academy sides, but after a discussion with the clubs, further format changes for the 2019/20 season are now to be drawn up by the league and presented in September.

However, changes that will be included is that EFL clubs can include players on loan at National League sides, and that the academy sides will be limited on inclusions of players over 21. They will only be able to name two players who are over the age of 21 and have made more than 40 First Team appearances.

The EFL have also confirmed that they will not be taking a winter break in February, with the league making this announcement in the wake of the news that the Premier League will be doing so from the 2019/20 season.

In a further key development, the EFL has also confirmed match programme publication is no longer mandatory. Following a vote to ease a relaxation of sponsorship obligations, the EFL clubs have agreed to allow teams to make the decision to publish match programmes on a match-by-match basis from next season.