MK Dons and Northampton’s opponents in the 2020-21 League One took one step closer to being settled as Wycombe won the division’s play-off final.

The Chairboys beat local rivals Oxford United 2-1 at Wembley Stadium at the end of the abridged play-off formats, with Wycombe beating Fleetwood in the semis after being pushed into the play-offs following the use of PPG to settle the early-finished season.

This means that while Wycombe will play Championship football for the first time ever, Oxford United will remain in the third tier for another season.

Oxford, Portsmouth and Fleetwood had all been recalled following the season’s early conclusion to participate in the play-offs along with the Buckinghamshire side.

Joining those 3 and the sides who weren’t recalled to take part are Crewe, Swindon and Plymouth, who were given PPG automatic promotion, and Northampton, who beat Exeter in the League 2 play-off final last month.

Still to be determined are the 3 relegated teams from the Championship. The 2nd tier is yet to have any teams relegated, with the bottom 8 teams split by just 6 points as the season enters its final 3 games.

It is not yet clear when the EFL will give the authorisation for the 2020-21 League One season to begin, or when it will ultimately start, or if supporters will be permitted into games.

Reports this morning suggested August 29th and September 12th are being deliberated as start dates, but as yet, no concrete plan has been agreed.

The list of teams for the 2020-21 League One season so far confirmed is:

  • Accrington Stanley
  • AFC Wimbledon
  • Blackpool
  • Bristol Rovers
  • Burton Albion
  • Crewe Alexandra
  • Doncaster Rovers
  • Fleetwood Town
  • Gillingham
  • Ipswich Town
  • Lincoln City
  • MK Dons
  • Northampton Town
  • Peterborough United
  • Plymouth Argyle
  • Portsmouth
  • Rochdale
  • Shrewsbury Town
  • Sunderland
  • Swindon Town