The 24 teams for the 2020-21 League One season has been provisionally confirmed as the Championship had a dramatic conclusion.

Hull City, Wigan Athletic and Charlton Athletic were relegated after a crazy final day that saw multiple teams drop in and out of the relegation zone over the course of the evening, to say nothing of further drama in the races for automatic promotion and play-offs.

Luton Town, Barnsley, Middlesbrough and Birmingham City had also been at risk of the drop, with no teams having been relegated in advance of the final day, but all 4 were able to get on the right side of the line at the final whistle and with it maintain their second tier status for another season.

Relegation for the Tigers, Latics and Addicks confirms the 2020-21 League One line-up, subject to a number of off-pitch appeals and hearings that are being heard regarding 3 clubs.

The first concerns the 12 point deduction Wigan Athletic received on entering administration in late June. The Latics would have finished in 13th position had it not been for that deduction.

Despite strong post-lockdown form that included an 8-0 demolition of Hull, a late equaliser conceded at Charlton in their last away game and a final day draw with Fulham meant they did not finish far enough ahead of the bottom 3 to escape the drop. An appeal against their deduction is currently being held, and will be heard next week.

Sheffield Wednesday are the subject of a separate case. In November, the Owls were charged by the EFL with breaking financial rules over the sale of the club’s stadium to their owner. Wednesday have denied wrong-doing, and the case was heard earlier last month. Sanctions including a points deduction could be possible if the club are found guilty. The Yorkshire side finished 8 points clear of the dropzone.

Derby County are also subject to a similar investigation to the one around Wednesday after receiving similar charges in January. The Rams finished 16 points clear of the dropzone.

It is being reported that the EFL wishes to get all of these cases heard and verdicts revealed in time for the play-off final, which is due on August 4th.

As far as the 2020-21 League One is concerned, there is no date as yet for when the season will start or when fixtures will be announced. It is being reported late August and early September are being considered.

The list of teams for the 2020-21 League One season so far confirmed is:

  • Accrington Stanley
  • AFC Wimbledon
  • Blackpool
  • Bristol Rovers
  • Burton Albion
  • Charlton Athletic
  • Crewe Alexandra
  • Doncaster Rovers
  • Fleetwood Town
  • Gillingham
  • Hull City
  • Ipswich Town
  • Lincoln City
  • MK Dons
  • Northampton Town
  • Peterborough United
  • Plymouth Argyle
  • Portsmouth
  • Rochdale
  • Shrewsbury Town
  • Sunderland
  • Swindon Town
  • Wigan Athletic