MK Dons have provided an early indication of their retained list, with 4 departures and 7 are in talks to stay at the club.

The club’s manager Russell Martin confirmed earlier today that goalkeeper Lee Nicholls, midfielder Jordan Houghton and strikers Kieran Agard and Joe Mason will all be released at the end of the season.

As well as this, MK Dons confirmed the club are in discussion with a further seven players to look at signing new deals. These are Jay Bird, Ben Gladwin, Cameron Jerome, Josh McEachran, Matthew Sorinola, Andrew Surman and Laurie Walker.

MK Dons also confirmed the departures at the end of the season of four players who are presently at the club on loan. These are striker Will Grigg, who is on loan from Sunderland, Ethan Laird from Manchester United, Stoke City’s Lasse Sorensen and the Norwich City loanee Louis Thompson.

As well as the future of these players, MK Dons have also confirmed 15 players are already under contract for 2021/22. These are Hiram Boateng, Charlie Brown, Harry Darling, Jack Davies, Andrew Fisher, Scott Fraser, John Freeman, Daniel Harvie, Lewis Johnson, Zak Jules, David Kasumu, Dean Lewington, Sam Nombe, Warren O’Hora and Matt O’Riley.

The news has been confirmed 3 days before the Dons’ final game of the 2020-21 season, which is due to be against Rochdale on Sunday (09/05).

The departures of Nicholls, Houghton and Agard sees the end of the Dons’ association with 3 players who were key players in the team that won promotion from League 2 in 2018/19. Goalkeeper Nicholls first arrived in Milton Keynes in 2016 and made 157 appearances for the club.

31-year-old striker Agard also arrived in 2016, becoming the Dons’ record signing at the time, and has scored 50 times for the Dons, though he has not appeared in League One this season. Houghton, 28, played 107 times for the club.

Mason, 29, joined in 2019 and has scored five times in 29 appearances during the current campaign, though 3 of these came as a hat-trick against Fleetwood Town.